Book Editing Rates in 2026: EFA Benchmarks and Freelance Rate Ranges
Book editing rates are the per-word, per-hour, or per-page prices that professional editors charge for each stage of editing a book. The most widely cited benchmark in the United States is the Editorial Freelancers Association (EFA) rate chart. This guide breaks down the 2026 EFA medians by editing stage and genre, shows how to convert between pricing units, and explains why rates vary.
Pricing your own book?
This page covers industry benchmarks. To see what Editor World charges, with totals by manuscript length and six worked budgets, go to how much book editing costs.
Quick Answer
2026 EFA median rates for fiction: proofreading 1.2 to 2.0 cents per word and copy editing 2.0 to 2.7 cents. Line editing runs 2.7 to 3.5 cents, and developmental editing runs 3.0 to 3.5 cents.
Nonfiction runs higher: copy editing 3.0 to 4.0 cents per word and developmental editing 4.0 to 5.0 cents.
Hourly medians: about $35 to $70 an hour, depending on the stage and genre.
An 80,000-word novel at fiction medians: $1,600 to $2,160 for copy editing and $2,400 to $2,800 for developmental editing.
What Are the Standard Book Editing Rates in 2026?
The standard book editing rates in 2026 are the median ranges in the EFA's 2026 Rate Chart. The EFA surveyed its members from November 2025 through mid-January 2026. More than 1,100 editorial professionals, over a third of the membership, reported what they charged for work done in 2025.
| Editing stage | Fiction per word | Fiction per hour | Nonfiction per word | Nonfiction per hour |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Proofreading | 1.2 to 2.0 cents | $35 to $45 | 2.0 to 3.0 cents | $40 to $55 |
| Copy editing | 2.0 to 2.7 cents | $40 to $50 | 3.0 to 4.0 cents | $45 to $60 |
| Line editing | 2.7 to 3.5 cents | $50 to $60 | 3.5 to 5.0 cents | $50 to $65 |
| Developmental editing | 3.0 to 3.5 cents | $52.50 to $70 | 4.0 to 5.0 cents | $57.50 to $70 |
These are median ranges, so half of the editors who responded charge more and half charge less. The EFA doesn't set rates or advise members on what to charge. It notes that individual rates vary with the type of work, turnaround, expertise, training, years of experience, and local cost of living. Source: the Editorial Freelancers Association 2026 Rate Chart.
What Each Rate Covers
- Proofreading: a final check of the formatted file for typos, spacing, and layout errors.
- Copy editing: grammar, punctuation, spelling, consistency, and style guide rules.
- Line editing: sentence clarity, rhythm, word choice, and voice.
- Developmental editing: structure, plot or argument, pacing, and character.
For what you receive at each stage and how to tell which ones your book needs, see how much book editing costs.
What the EFA Medians Mean for an 80,000-Word Book
An 80,000-word manuscript is a common length for commercial fiction and narrative nonfiction. The table below multiplies that word count by each EFA median range.
| Editing stage | Fiction, 80,000 words | Nonfiction, 80,000 words |
|---|---|---|
| Proofreading | $960 to $1,600 | $1,600 to $2,400 |
| Copy editing | $1,600 to $2,160 | $2,400 to $3,200 |
| Line editing | $2,160 to $2,800 | $2,800 to $4,000 |
| Developmental editing | $2,400 to $2,800 | $3,200 to $4,000 |
Nonfiction medians run about half again higher than fiction at most stages. Nonfiction editors also check facts, citations, terminology, and reference lists, which takes more time per page.
What Are Book Editing Rates by Genre?
Book editing rates vary by genre because some kinds of books take more time or specialist knowledge per page. The 2026 EFA chart reports separate medians for children's books, memoir, academic, business, technical, and medical work. The table lists per-word medians in cents, ordered by copy editing rate from lowest to highest.
| Genre or category | Proofreading | Copy editing | Line editing | Developmental editing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiction | 1.2 to 2.0 | 2.0 to 2.7 | 2.7 to 3.5 | 3.0 to 3.5 |
| Young adult | 1.0 to 2.0 | 2.0 to 3.0 | 2.8 to 4.0 | 3.0 to 3.5 |
| Middle grade | 1.3 to 2.0 | 2.3 to 3.0 | 2.8 to 4.0 | 3.0 to 3.8 |
| Picture book | 2.3 to 4.3 | 2.5 to 3.5 | 3.5 to 5.0 | 3.6 to 4.5 |
| Graphic novel | 1.6 to 1.8 | 2.7 to 2.9 | 4.0 to 6.0 | 4.0 to 9.0 |
| Memoir | 1.7 to 2.0 | 2.7 to 3.5 | 3.0 to 4.0 | 3.5 to 4.5 |
| Nonfiction | 2.0 to 3.0 | 3.0 to 4.0 | 3.5 to 5.0 | 4.0 to 5.0 |
| Business and marketing | 2.0 to 3.0 | 3.0 to 4.0 | 3.2 to 5.0 | 4.5 to 6.0 |
| Medical | 3.0 to 4.0 | 3.0 to 5.0 | 4.0 to 5.0 | 5.3 to 6.8 |
| Technical | 2.0 to 3.5 | 3.4 to 4.5 | 3.6 to 5.0 | 2.8 to 3.8 |
| Academic humanities, faculty publication | 2.8 to 4.0 | 4.0 to 5.0 | 4.0 to 6.0 | 5.0 to 7.3 |
Three patterns stand out. Memoir sits between fiction and nonfiction at every stage. Academic and medical books carry the highest developmental rates, because the editor must judge an argument in a specialist field. Graphic novels show the widest developmental range, from 4.0 to 9.0 cents.
Read narrow categories with care. The EFA notes that members answered only the questions that applied to their own work, so the number of responses varies widely. That likely explains odd results, such as technical developmental editing falling below technical copy editing.
What Do Manuscript Assessments and Beta Reads Cost?
A manuscript assessment is a written evaluation of a full manuscript without line-by-line edits. It costs less than developmental editing because the editor writes a report rather than marking up every page. The EFA lists it with other reading services, which give feedback but don't edit the text.
| Service | Per word | Per hour | Median project fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beta reading | 0.5 to 0.8 cents | $50 to $70 | $150 |
| Authenticity reading | 1.0 to 1.5 cents | $50 to $55 | $500 |
| Sensitivity reading | 1.2 to 1.5 cents | $50 to $60 | $300 |
| Manuscript assessment | 1.5 to 1.8 cents | $40 to $54 | $600 |
| Book indexing | 2.0 to 2.5 cents | $55 to $60 | Not reported |
At these medians, a manuscript assessment of an 80,000-word novel runs $1,200 to $1,440. That's roughly half the cost of a fiction developmental edit. Many authors use an assessment to decide whether a full developmental edit is worth it.
Which Pricing Models Do Book Editors Use?
Book editors price their work in four main ways: per word, per page, per hour, or as a flat project fee. Each model trades off how predictable the total is against how closely it tracks the work done.
| Pricing model | How it works | Strength | Watch for | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Per word | Rate times manuscript word count | You know the total before you submit | May not reflect an unusually rough draft | Authors who want a fixed price up front |
| Per page | Rate times page count | Easy to estimate from a printed draft | Words per page vary; the EFA uses 250 | Print workflows with a fixed page count |
| Per hour | Rate times the hours worked | Tracks the actual effort | Hard to budget without an hour estimate | Light edits, second passes, unusual scopes |
| Flat project fee | One agreed fee for the whole manuscript | Predictable, and the editor carries the risk | Scope changes may need a new agreement | Developmental edits with shifting scope |
How Do You Convert Hourly and Per-Page Rates to Per-Word Rates?
Converting every quote to a per-word rate is the simplest way to compare editors who price differently. The EFA's page standard is 250 words, and its chart lists typical pages per hour for each kind of work.
- Per page to per word. Divide the page rate by the words per page. A $5 page rate at 250 words per page equals 2.0 cents per word. At 300 words per page, it's about 1.7 cents.
- Per hour to per word. Divide the hourly rate by the words edited per hour. A $45 copy editor working 7 pages an hour edits 1,750 words, which equals about 2.6 cents per word.
- Flat fee to per word. Divide the fee by the word count. A $3,000 fee on an 80,000-word manuscript equals 3.75 cents per word.
Be careful with an hourly quote that has no hour estimate. An 80,000-word book is about 320 pages at 250 words each. At $50 an hour, an editor working 10 pages an hour bills $1,600, while one working 5 pages an hour bills $3,200. Ask for an estimated total or a cap before you agree.
How Do Freelance, Company, and Editor World Rates Compare?
Authors usually hire through one of three routes. They can hire an independent freelancer, use an editing company that assigns the editor, or choose an editor on a marketplace. The table compares how each route sets and shows its rates.
| Factor | Independent freelance editor | Editing company that assigns editors | Editor World |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who sets the rate | Each editor sets their own | The company sets a price list | Published per-word tiers by turnaround |
| Quote format | Per hour, page, word, or project | Varies by company | Per word |
| When you see the price | Usually after a discussion or sample | Varies by company | Before you order, through an instant price calculator |
| Choosing the editor | You choose the person | The company assigns one | You choose from editor profiles |
| Copy editing rate | EFA fiction median 2.0 to 2.7 cents per word | Varies by company | From 2.1 cents per word for 35,000+ words on turnarounds longer than 7 days |
| Fiction vs. nonfiction pricing | Nonfiction medians run higher | Varies by company | Same rate for both |
| Sample edit | Varies by editor | Varies by company | First 300 words free, no commitment |
| Turnaround options | Depends on the editor's schedule | Varies by company | Extended tiers for the lowest rates; same-day tiers for qualifying documents |
| AI use | Varies by editor | Varies by company | None at any stage |
Editor World is one of the few editing services that lets you choose your own editor. Its copy editing, line editing, and proofreading start at $0.021 per word for manuscripts of 35,000 words or more on turnarounds longer than 7 days. Shorter manuscripts start at $0.023 on the 7-day tier, and faster turnarounds cost $0.027 and up. Developmental editing costs $0.056 per word on a 21-day turnaround or $0.06 on a 14-day turnaround.
Ready to price your manuscript?
See totals by manuscript length and six worked budgets in our book editing cost guide. Or start with a free sample edit of your first 300 words.
Get a Free Sample EditWhy Do Book Editing Rates Vary So Much?
Book editing rates vary because the same word count can take very different amounts of skill and time. These five factors explain most of the spread within each EFA range.
Editor Experience and Training
An editor with 20 years of published titles usually charges more than one building a client list. Both may do good work. The experienced editor's rate reflects a longer track record and deeper reference knowledge.
Genre and Subject Knowledge
Specialist subjects need an editor who understands the field. That's why medical and academic medians sit above general nonfiction. A literary novel with a nonlinear timeline can also take longer than a straightforward memoir of the same length.
Turnaround Time
Faster deadlines usually cost more, because the editor has to reorder other work to fit yours in. Giving an editor more time is one of the simplest ways to get a lower rate.
Manuscript Condition
A clean draft moves faster than one that needs heavy intervention on every page. Editors who charge by the hour bill more for rough drafts. Editors who charge by the word may quote a higher rate after seeing a sample.
Location and Cost of Living
The EFA lists local cost of living among the factors behind rate differences. Editors in high-cost areas often set higher rates to match their expenses.
How Should You Use These Benchmarks When You Get a Quote?
Use the EFA medians as a reference point, not a price list. Compare each quote with the range for the same stage and genre, then ask about anything far outside it.
- Below the range: ask why. A newer editor's introductory rate or a published price list can explain it. An unexplained low rate can also mean rushed or automated work.
- Within the range: compare what's included, such as the number of passes, a style sheet, and the turnaround.
- Above the range: look for credentials that justify it, such as long experience in your genre or a specialist subject background.
For a full checklist on vetting an editor, see what to look for in a book editor.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the average book editing rates in 2026?
The 2026 Editorial Freelancers Association rate chart puts median fiction proofreading at 1.2 to 2.0 cents per word. Fiction copy editing runs 2.0 to 2.7 cents. Line editing runs 2.7 to 3.5 cents, and developmental editing runs 3.0 to 3.5 cents. Nonfiction medians are higher at every stage, with copy editing at 3.0 to 4.0 cents per word.
What is the EFA rate chart?
The EFA rate chart is an annual table of median rates published by the Editorial Freelancers Association. The 2026 chart draws on a survey of more than 1,100 members, collected from November 2025 through mid-January 2026, about work done in 2025. It lists per-word, per-hour, and per-page ranges by service and genre. The EFA does not set rates for its members.
How much do book editors charge per hour?
Book editors charge about $35 to $70 an hour at 2026 EFA medians. Fiction proofreading runs $35 to $45 an hour, and fiction copy editing runs $40 to $50. Line editing runs $50 to $65, and developmental editing runs $52.50 to $70. Hourly totals depend on the pace of the work, so ask for an estimated number of hours or a cap.
How much do book editors charge per word?
At 2026 EFA medians, book editors charge about 1 to 5 cents per word for most fiction and general nonfiction. Proofreading sits at the low end and developmental editing at the high end. Specialist work costs more, with academic and medical developmental editing reaching about 5 to 7.5 cents per word. Multiply the rate by your word count to estimate the total.
How much does a developmental editor charge?
The 2026 EFA chart puts median developmental editing rates at 3.0 to 3.5 cents per word for fiction and 4.0 to 5.0 cents for nonfiction. Memoir runs 3.5 to 4.5 cents. For an 80,000-word novel, that comes to about $2,400 to $2,800. Academic, medical, and business books carry higher medians because the editor must judge a specialist argument.
How much does a line editor charge?
Median line editing rates in the 2026 EFA chart are 2.7 to 3.5 cents per word for fiction and 3.5 to 5.0 cents for nonfiction. Hourly medians run $50 to $60 for fiction and $50 to $65 for nonfiction. An 80,000-word novel costs about $2,160 to $2,800 at the fiction median. Some editors combine line editing and copy editing into one pass.
How much does a proofreader charge for a book?
Proofreading is the lowest-priced editing stage. The 2026 EFA medians are 1.2 to 2.0 cents per word for fiction and 2.0 to 3.0 cents for nonfiction. Hourly medians run $35 to $55. An 80,000-word novel costs about $960 to $1,600 to proofread at the fiction median. Proofreading assumes the book has already been copy edited.
Why are nonfiction editing rates higher than fiction rates?
Nonfiction editors check facts, citations, terminology, and reference lists in addition to the prose, so each page takes longer. The 2026 EFA chart shows median nonfiction copy editing at 3.0 to 4.0 cents per word. Fiction copy editing runs 2.0 to 2.7 cents, so nonfiction runs about half again higher. Specialist subjects such as medicine and law cost more still.
How much does a manuscript assessment cost?
A manuscript assessment costs 1.5 to 1.8 cents per word at 2026 EFA medians, or $40 to $54 an hour. The median project fee is $600. For an 80,000-word novel, that comes to about $1,200 to $1,440. An assessment gives you a written report on the whole book without line-by-line edits. It costs roughly half as much as a fiction developmental edit.
How do I convert an hourly editing rate to a per-word rate?
Divide the hourly rate by the number of words the editor covers in an hour. A copy editor charging $45 an hour who edits 7 pages of 250 words covers 1,750 words an hour. That works out to about 2.6 cents per word. The EFA chart lists typical pages per hour for each service, which helps when an editor does not state a pace.
How many words are in a page for editing rates?
The Editorial Freelancers Association uses 250 words per page as its standard for per-page rates. Some editors and services use 300 words or count by formatted page, so the same page rate can mean different per-word prices. A $5 page rate equals 2.0 cents per word at 250 words but about 1.7 cents at 300. Always confirm the page standard.
Is a book editing rate below the EFA range a red flag?
Not always. A newer editor may offer an introductory rate, and some services publish rates near the low end of the range. Ask why a rate is low and what is included, such as the number of passes and a style sheet. An unexplained rate far below the range can signal rushed or automated work, so request a sample edit first.
How do Editor World rates compare with EFA benchmarks?
Editor World copy editing, line editing, and proofreading start at $0.021 per word. That rate applies to manuscripts of 35,000 words or more on turnarounds longer than 7 days. That is at the low end of the 2026 EFA fiction copy editing median of 2.0 to 2.7 cents. Developmental editing costs $0.056 per word on a 21-day turnaround. The same rates apply to fiction and nonfiction.
Related Guides
To turn these rates into a budget for your own book, see how much book editing costs. It covers Editor World's rates, totals by manuscript length, and which editing stages your book needs. For pricing across other document types, see how much editing costs and how much proofreading costs.
If you're choosing among providers, the 9 best book editing services compares nine options on price, turnaround, and AI policy. To find and vet an editor, see how to find a book editor. To plan your schedule, see how long book editing takes.